One Way Street

One-Way Street

Congrats! You’re the owner of a new time machine. The catch? It comes in two models, each traveling one way only: the past OR the future. Which do you choose, and why?

(Thanks for the great prompt suggestion, Purvi Gadia!)

“My own time machine huh,” I muttered.

I circled the sleek and alluring object slowly. To the casual observer, I appeared to be soaking in every detail.My thoughts though were solely on the choice I would have to make.

Past or Future, which way to go?

Into the past meant a chance to complete my family tree in a way no one else could. By talking to my ancestors, truly a chance to get to know them and my lineage first hand.

“Wait, you said one way or the other, but does it work only once?” I asked with a hard stare at the scrawny little man who had brought it to me.

“It will always work, but only one way,” his face crinkled, “But we are really not sure happens when you reach the end of time… Either way of course.”

I went back to my circles, but this time around a very nervous scrawny man.

“Why don’t you take her for a spin, and let me know,” I whispered as I passed an ear.

“Uh…be…huh,” the poor guy stammered, “Because I can’t get back!”

“Go forward and meet your great, great, grandchildren,” I offered, “If you can build this thing now surely someone in the future figured out how to put it in reverse.”

My answer had been in mind since the first second I laid eyes on it, but I was not quite ready to give it.

“Well,” I asked.

“I…uh… I like my life here Sir,” he said.

“Me too,” I chuckled, “Now if you want to get rid of it, park it in front of congress, and drop the spiel about a one way ticket.”

Leave a Reply

