Too Many Grammar Mistakes?

Ready, Set, Done

Our ten-minute free-write is back! Have no mercy on your keyboard as you give us your most unfiltered self (feel free to edit later, or just publish as-is).



I had to laugh when I read this prompt. Now to be fair this is only the 2nd Ready, Set, Done I have encountered, so it might very well be a normal thing to most.

My eyes scanned the words,  and two things stood out to me. First, they must think my editing skills suck. The last one said something like…No editing, No symbols….blah blah blah.

This time they tell you “Feel free to edit later.”

Don’t worry Daily Prompt techies, I will be the first to admit they suck. I am not the guy you come to for proper English and punctuation. Unless your an editor with lots of time.

No, I’m like the old guy at the end of the bar. I’m sure you’ve all seen him, he’s the one enjoying his beer and telling stories that make his audience snort their beer as a well timed punchline catches them mid gulp.

The second thing I noticed, was “give us your most unfiltered self

Be careful what your ask for Daily Post.

That’s what the Mrs. ask me to do…Only once.

“But… but…I’m not done!” I stammered when she turned around.

All I received was a wave of her hand and the words, “I’m good.”

Now good sense tells me, If the woman who’s put up with me for this many years doesn’t  want that side of me to come out, then it’s darn certain I need to leave it where it is!

And there it shall stay. But good try!

Leave a Reply

