Quote

Ah The Memories

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Spinning Yarns.”


Like a good blanket, tales are spun from those with experience. I’m not referring to experience in telling them, although that certainly helps.

But rather life experience.  Adventurers, military folk, even your everyday neighbor who wanders into the natural world with his eyes open can weave exciting tales.

It is those who think outside the box, and enjoy sharing their experiences that breath life into tales like none other.

One of the great story tellers I ever knew was a mentor of mine who also happened to be my grandpa.

A tall, powerful man who often had little to say, when he felt the need to share a tale or two, people quietly gathered around to listen.

Even the most normal everyday encounter would roll of his tongue in such a way as to leave you on the edge of your seat in anticipation.

Those stories I heard in my youth still ring in my head to this day, some thirty years later.

And on the rare occasion when both he and my dad would sit down to compare tales of days gone by, there was no place I would rather have been than sitting right there with them soaking in tales of all sorts.

Hands down no question about it, those two men had the greatest impact on my young imagination.

Even now, well into my forties I look forward to the days when Dad and I can sit around a campfire, or even at the kitchen table with a hot cup of joe and glimpse an era of simpler times as seen through the eyes of one of the greatest men I know.

My hat is off to both of these great men who not only mastered the art of spinning tales out of everyday situations, but also taught me so much about the world.

It is their life experiences, woven with beautiful and often hilarious descriptions that morph a good story into a great one.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

