Quote

They Will Not Fit Behind My Ear!

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Pens and Pencils.”


20150117_082646

In my world, pens and pencils are still more common than a keyboard.

Very often you’ll find me with my trusty mechanical pencil in hand sketching out a project that is in my head and ready to come to life.

20150117_093604

Inside my workshop, pencils are used for notes, dimensions and layout of whatever I am working on.

Once completed, a project and all it’s notes are filed away ready to be pulled out at a moments notice should I need to replicate the piece.

I often build unique items, such as the small plywood boat that takes center stage in my book Desperation Floats.

Projects like that are always subject to change. Planned shapes and angles need modification in order properly come to fruition.

Computers can never replace a pencil in the hand of a carpenter. They are just not job site friendly.

And most of all they will not fit behind my ear!

 20150117_093446

2 responses to “They Will Not Fit Behind My Ear!

  1. Hahaha, the pencil behind the ear is crucial!

    Like

Leave a Reply

