If We Were Having Coffee 2-15-2015

coffee2

If we were having coffee…

I’d share the adventure that kept me from having coffee yesterday.

Cold biting wind and blowing snow found me packing the Jeep early yesterday morning for a quick one hour drive out to the middle of no where. (Yes, even the tiny little town in which I reside is closer to somewhere than nowhere!)

My destination was in the heart of farm land south of Lansing to pick up a couple beams from a 175 year old barn that came down. Nothing but two lane roads and miles and miles of fields.

It is usually a pleasant and scenic drive. However with a nearly thirty mile an hour wind driving large fluffy flakes of snow, I could barely see past the nose of my truck.

When I could, large shapely snow drifts filled my vision just before I blasted through them. I had to chuckle thinking my ride must look similar to our young dog bounding in and out of the snow drifts last weekend.

But this was much more serious. I quickly lost count of the cars in ditches, and even one that went into a large drift head first. Only about half the car could be seen protruding out of the snow.

A trip that should have taken only a couple hours turned into a five hour event of nerve wracking magnitude, complete with a white knuckle grip on the steering wheel. But I made it, safe and sound. As much as I wanted to snap a few pictures to share, I could not bring myself to focus on anything except where the road should have been.

And by ten o’clock last night, those ancient beams formed by nothing but hand tools, with markings of an age gone by, had found their new home right down the middle of our living room and one between the kitchen and dining room.

While they may not be for everyone, the rustic touch they add to the house is a pleasant one for both me and Mama.

If we were having coffee…

I’d ask how your week went. I hope this hot cup of Joe finds you healthy and warm with a smile on your face.

If we were having coffee…

I’d tell you just how crazy the week around here really was. Our newly wed daughter received an astounding offer. Our neighbor decided it is time for him to move on and offered his house to the young couple at an amazing price.

After a few days helping them work details and chase a mortgage, it looks like they will soon be moving in right next door!

Even Mama’s comfort cruiser is back on it’s feet again!

And a false alarm with our young St. Bernard had us frantic. This tale is  one for a post all it’s own as we learned something very interesting about large dogs.

She is fine and healthy, but I shall leave that right there until I have time to post a very interesting fact anyone with a large four legged family member should be aware of.

If were were having coffee…

I’d hint at a wonderful idea that thumped me in the head as I careened through snow drifts yesterday. Of course the thought is only in its infancy, and there are a lot of details I have not had the time to think through, but I want to start a my own link party.

The theme is the secret and one I am not quite ready to share. So stay tuned! I need to get through this reno in the next two weeks before I open the doors at work again. Once I have that completed, I should be around here a whole lot more and have the time to focus on the link party.

I’m afraid I am all out of time for this week, so as I finish this cup I’ll remind you that Part Time Monster has their linky HERE should you like to meet up with others for coffee.

Until next week (and I’ll do my best to meet you Saturday morning), may your week be filled with laughter and snowball fights.

2 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee 2-15-2015

  1. What great news for your daughter! Well, for all of you. To live right next door to each other will be wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to hear your trip was a success, and even though rough, you made it safely. The beams sound fantastic, I love things of that nature. And Congratulations to your daughter, what great timing. Looking forward to see what your link will be about. Enjoy the rest of your night!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

