If We Were Having Coffee- 2/21/15

coffee2

If we were having coffee…

You’d find me standing on the front porch enjoying a steaming cup this morning. Our renovation is still in high hear, and with a tight timeline I have spent far too many hours indoors for my liking.

For the past three weeks I have been working nearly non stop till the wee hours of the morning every night. While it is good to see the progress, I miss fresh air and snow under my boots.

Come on in, and see the changes!

If we were having coffee…

I’d offer you a piece of chocolate cake. It’s the first cake I baked that actually turned out! Much thanks to our daughter who was willing to give dear ole dad a baking lesson.

I turns out I had two fatal flaws in making cake.

  1.  Don’t just mix all the ingredients together in a bowl and stir until they are perfectly smooth batter.
  2. Don’t shake out the air bubbles once the batter is in the cake pan.

20150210_114026

It is  a bit denser than Mama’s so I have some practicing to do, but it’s still a good cake!

If we were having coffee…

I’d be curious of your week. Have you been safe and warm in the frigid blast that seemed to grip the country? Our highs the past few days have been below zero here.

Even my old reliable Jeep didn’t want to start yesterday morning when the thermometer read -22 actual temp. With windchill (according to the weather man) it felt like -37.

If we were having coffee…

I’d tell you how much I miss sharing and mingling here. I have come to find lots of interesting people and made a few friends.

To all of you thanks for your patients while I work diligently on our home and only have enough time to pop in once a week. When I get back on track with life, I will have time to stop in and see everyone much more often.

If we were having coffee…

I’d tell you I can’t believe just how quickly ten weeks go by. I’m in the final count down before returning to work on Tuesday.

It feels like only a week ago I began this vacation. Honestly, I wonder how I had time for a full time job with everything else going on!

If we were having coffee…

I would have to bid farewell about now. I have finished building the counter tops for Mama’s kitchen, now it is time to get that all important sink back where it belongs and slide the appliances back in.

Here’s to a week full of good news, normal temperatures and smiling bosses! Have a good one and I’ll for sure see you  next week.

And don’t forget to stop by the linky for Part Time Monster for more coffee. There are some great people mingling about there.

11 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee- 2/21/15

  1. I truly enjoy the style of your postings. Very welcoming.

    Like

  2. Thank you for the coffee! It’s been cold here this week but nothing like -22. I drove my son to school one day because I didn’t want to wait for the bus in -1 (F). That chocolate cake looks great! Have a good week.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You know, the difference that not shaking out air bubbles and mixing ingredients separately before combining them all makes is amazing. It really changes the quality and consistency of the baking.

    I always think that baking is a bit like magic. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Coffee and chocolate cake? You Sir, are my new best friend! Renovations are a lot of work, worth it in the end though! Good luck with yours!

    Like

    • Well then it sounds like I need to make sure there’s cake in the house every Saturday. I won’t complain about that.
      As for the renovation, I truly enjoy the work but the timeline in hindsight was just a bit too tight. I didn’t factor in the complications of life!
      Thanks for stopping by, hope to see you next week.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Chocolate cake! Yum! Thank you for that. I hope you have a great first week back to work and I’ll look forward to hearing about it next week!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Coffee and chocolate cake. Now that’s a nirvana. I hope the renovation goes well

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

