If We Were Having Coffee 3/7/2015

coffee2

If we were having coffee…

This morning you’d find me running back and forth from my workshop to the house. It’s clean up day today! Mountains  of tools and supplies are headed out the front door back to their proper places in the shop.

Our renovations are finally so close to the end I almost can’t stand it. If only I could find my magic wand to wave about in order to cinch the last little loose ends tight.

A couple light switches here, an outlet there, and a few tiny pieces of trim to cut. Then it’s off to spend some time sanding and staining cabinets to match.

I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, but for some reason I feel like I am chasing it rather than gaining on it.

Well anyway come on in!

If we were having coffee…

I’d ask if you’d seen the weather reports for this week. It is finally going to reach into the forties around here. While the ice fisherman in me is screaming “Not Yet”, the rest of me is more than ready to feel some warmth that doesn’t come from multiple layers of clothing!

If we were having coffee…

I’d offer you brownies instead of chocolate cake to go with a steaming cup of Joe. I had been pestered for weeks to make some by our youngest son.

“You always have cake, when will you have some brownies?”

I’m the biggest sweets eater in the house, and it turns out, other than the occasional piece of cake eaten by Mama, I am the sole cake eater in the house.

So I made a batch of brownies while I had the oven going for cake this week.

After two days of reminding him they were on the counter he headed out the door for a weekend at a friends. When I popped the lid I discovered he had yet to even touch them.

Granted they are a box mix, Martha Stewart I am not, but he didn’t even nibble on an edge!

So before I can make another cake, I have to save the brownies from turning to hockey pucks.

If we were having coffee…

I’d want to ask if you know where Bald Eagles go during the winter. There’s a pair at work who have yet to grace me with their presence this year.

What has been back to greet me is our resident hawk, although as you can see in the pic, he is still just as camera shy as ever. When I lifted my phone to shoot the picture, he had settled on top of the pole. Just before I heard the digital simulation of the shutter, he jumped off with his wings spread wide.

20141008_152017

If we were having coffee…

I’d remind those of you affected by Daylight Savings Time to change your clocks before you go to bed tonight. Yeah, it’s that time.  And since you have the step ladder out, replace those all important batteries in your smoke alarms!

Well, I suppose it is time for me to get my butt in high gear for the day, so as much as I would like to sit here and chat over another cup, I really must excuse myself. Those damn magic elves have been slacking off of their late night duties so all the little loose ends are still waiting for me.

Here’s to a warmer week full of sunshine, muddy roads and song birds! For those of you who entertain our robins during the winter, have they left yet?

Their arrival back here in Michigan is the sign I wait for to call back my crew, and I am beginning to go stir crazy in that big shop all alone!

There’s more coffee and good times to be had so when you leave here be sure to stop by Part Time Monster’s link page and mingle!

5 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee 3/7/2015

  1. Good to hear your renovations are nearing their end. Enjoy the warmer weather!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to hear the renovations are nearing an end. We are starting to look for our retirement house but have to pick a location first! Thanks for sharing coffee and brownies.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for the chat. Tell that son of yours that the brownies were delicious, even if they were box mix brownies. They were full of love and caring and he missed out on it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

